top of page

Introduction to d:CON 4

Design is one’s impression or interpretation of his or her own idea. It is of course very subjective, as not everyone can appreciate a certain design. There is no right or wrong when it comes to creativity. As an architecture student, I personally thing it is of great importance to be able to understand other ideas, as well as to learn from other individual’s strengths. Good design rarely happens on the first try. Or the second. In fact, rather than coming in a flash of inspiration, it usually comes slowly, through a process of tinkering, refinement, and back-and-forth with the lecturer as well as other fellow group-mates. Hence , as a student in Design Group 4 , d:CON 4, I definitely aspire to learn more from others as well as to broaden my thinking abilities. As for a short introduction of myself, I am Ng Wei Mun , a student who was previously from Diploma in Architectural Studies. In a nut shell, I would say that I am soft spoken as I often pay close attention to my surroundings. However, when appropriate, I would definitely voice my opinion across. I am an individual that is open minded , as I believe every race , religion and culture should be understood and respected on equal grounds. In terms of design, I realize that I often take a more ‘comfortable’ approach, as my main goal in past designs were to create an optimum and comfortable living environment. On another note, there are a few characteristics of myself that I personally believe are my strengths that can potentially be of use in contribution to d:Con 4. I am confident in my ability to write as well as to communicate. I believe that I am able to relay my opinions and ideas across rather well. Next, another strength that I can often rely on , would be my ability to draw and watercolour. I have a flexibility in my imagination as I can think and imagine shapes and spaces well. The current assignment, Project 1 is indeed a unique assignment. In this assignment, it is very important to picture and understand the gruesome living situation of fellow Malayans during the Japanese War. Sybil Kathigasu , her family , the guerrillas and many other notable characters in the story has had such a great impact. In the story, we can see how one struggles and fights to survive under the hands of the common enemy. These struggles and emotion are definitely the key points that I wish to highlight In my take on the assignment.

Sybil and her husband , whilst in prison has found many ways of communicating to one another secretly , all while in the hands of the Japanese. Sybil still kept a firm front when she was interrogated and tortured,all while trying to hide and protect the truth to spare the lives of others. She worked hard and suffered verbal and physical abuse at the expense. Her courage and bravery to stand firm , while working to communicate with the outside world and her husband in the background , is definitely a powerful scene in the story. I hope to be able to portray her struggle and courage in my model.


Back
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page